Lee Maassen Named ISU Dairy Club Honorary Member

On Sunday, March 14, the Dairy Science Club at Iowa State University hosted the annual Dairy Science Banquet. Animal science faculty, club members, and alumni are invited each year to recognize departmental and club success. One particular award, the Dairy Science Club Honorary Member Award, gets voted on by club members prior to the banquet. This year’s recipient is Leroy Maassen of Maurice, Iowa.

The Honorary Member Award was first given out in 1925 to honor someone involved in dairy for their service to our club or industry. It is often said by dairy farmers to be one of the most prestigious recognitions for those in the Iowa dairy industry.

Maassen farms alongside his three sons on the family farm which began in 1946. Today, the family milks around 1,800 head. Maassen has been an advocate for the Iowa dairy industry since his times in 4-H and FFA. Maassen also serves as a devoted leader for the community and dairy industry, including serving on the boards of Midwest Dairy, Iowa State Dairy Association, and National DHIA.

Dr. Edwin Kreykes, a veterinarian with GPS Dairy Consulting LLC and friend of Maassen, introduced the awardee. In this, Dr. Kreykes mentioned Maassen’s successes in the dairy industry. The two first met in 1990 and Kreykes has been able to watch the farm’s smooth generational transitions. Kreykes acknowledged the family dairy’s achievements and progressive mindset.

“The high caliber of names on the club’s shortlist for this Honorary Member award is a testament to the dairy industry and the great individuals who support and promote the industry. Lee is a true advocate for dairy and the club is proud to have him as someone in the industry to learn from and look up to,” Shared Haley Jones, Dairy Science Club Advisor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *